CAS Stages

The 5 CAS stages are presented as a framework to assist students as they consider what they would like to do in CAS, make plans and carry out their ideas. This is applicable with CAS experiences and the CAS project.

3. 5 Stages of CAS.mp4

CAS learning is placed into five stage. The five stages are as follows:

1. Investigation:

Students identify their interests, skills and talents to be used in considering opportunities for CAS experiences, as well as areas for personal growth and development. Students investigate what they want to do and determine the purpose for their CAS experience. In the case of service, students identify a need they want to address.

2. Preparation:

Students clarify roles and responsibilities, develop a plan of actions to be taken, identify specific resources and timelines, and acquire any skills needed to engage in the CAS experience.

3. Action:

Students implement their idea or plan. This often requires decision-making and problem solving. Students may work individually, with partners, or in groups.

4. Reflection:

Students describe what happened, express feelings, generate ideas, and raise questions. Reflection can occur at any time during CAS to further understanding, to assist with revising plans, to learn from the experience, and to make explicit connections between their growth, accomplishments, and the learning outcomes for personal awareness. Reflection may lead to new action.

5. Demonstration:

Students make explicit what and how they learned and what they have accomplished, for example, by sharing their CAS experience through their CAS portfolio or with others in an informal or formal manner. Through demonstration and communication, students solidify their understanding and evoke response from others.